Baked

Taste of Home : Pandan Chiffon Cake

MAY we all survive the most dreaded month of the year, even if it leaves us battered and scathed.

“Cakes have been raising spirits and clearing gloom since ovens were invented” (CNN, 2017).

What other better way to describe the ultra-important role of cakes, really. Recently, CNN released a list of national cakes from a total of 18 countries, and the humble Pandan Cake representing Malaysia/Singapore was featured! The Pandan Cake thrust into the limelight is also sometimes called the Pandan Chiffon Cake to differentiate it from the Pandan Layer Cake. While few from both sides of the Causeway scrambled to defend their respective country’s ownership of the cake’s origin (hmm specifically the Malaysians actually), and understandably so as foodies who take immense pride in their national heritage, I personally feel a shared accolade is better than no accolade. Cakes unite people, not divide (cue Ed Sheeran) ❤

I thought it would be exciting to pay tribute to the Pandan Cake far away from home, especially since this cake is ubiquitous in Malaysia yet so often overlooked, and sometimes overshadowed by fancier, more atas cakes (yepp, I am guilty as charged). Also, with the bouts of terrible homesickness during the stressful exam season and absolutely no hope of just saying “I feel like eating pandan cake/cendol/Ramly burger etc” and have my father willingly oblige my requests and cravings, I had all the more reason to recreate a taste of home myself.

Being the eager beaver I am when it comes to all things related to cake and desserts, I went and bought a tube pan on Amazon a few days before my last paper (no thanks to last paper syndrome) and finally got to make the cake yesterday! The last time I had to deal with pandan leaves, Ah Ma insisted on doing things the reaallyy old-school way that she used a pestle and mortar to extract the pandan juice. Now that I don’t have Ah Ma here with me, nor do I have a pestle and mortar, I just utilized technology heheh, and blended the pandan leaves in a blender to get some pandan juice. YUMMMS.

Here is the recipe I used, and it turned out really soft and fluffy! 🙂

IMG_3686
The green is all from pandan (screwpine) leaves, no essence or colouring needed!

IMG_3689

IMG_3699
With some gula melaka syrup drizzle and edible rose petals in an unnecessary attempt to be fancy (so extra -.-)
Leave a Reply

