Baked

Unassuming Gem

17806923_10209980086191528_26317706_n“Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” (Proverbs 31:30)

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAREST MOMMY! ❤

Reality check : It’s fast APR-oaching the middle of the year (and EXAMS) already! *cries*

Growing up, I never wanted to be like my mum. I thought her life was mundane and dull as it revolved mostly only around us – my dad, brother and myself. She hardly ever went out with her friends or had any form of social life, other than church/bible school/cell group and a few closer colleagues whom she would visit during Hari Raya and Deepavali. I used to tell her to make friends and go out more often because I didn’t understand how anyone could spend all her time at home with just 3 other people. (That coming from me sounds a bit of an irony now since I’m quite a recluse myself HEH)

Worse still, she has never owned a credit card or even filled up her car at the petrol station. She never needed to; her marketing/shopping purse always refilled with cash, her car never out of fuel. When I was old enough to notice these things, I was horrified at her over-reliance on Papa and her non-independent ways of life. Living away from home since going to college and uni has inherently made me a lot more independent that I could never imagine depending on someone so much in every aspect of my life.

It was not until much later as I approached my twenties that I recognised how blessed and satisfied my mum actually is. She prioritises the important people in her life, treasures and nurtures her children, trusts and submits to her husband, lives by her values and walks faithfully in the Lord’s ways. I now realise how much I yearn to grow to be the strong woman my mother is. She may be simple and ordinary, quiet and gentle, but she is an unassuming gem.

Just like these Blender Banana Chia-Oatmeal Muffins! These would no doubt earn my mom’s seal of approval when she finds out how healthy the ingredients are heheh. No oil or butter, no sugar and no flour! And they still taste decent. I can already tell she’ll be impressed :p

Blender Banana Chia-Oatmeal Muffins

Recipe adapted from wellplated

 Ingredients

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • ½ cup chia seeds
  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (optional)
  • 2-3 tablespoons of honey
  • 1 ½ teaspoons of baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional)
  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • A pinch of salt
  • ½ cup dark chocolate chips or chocolate chunks

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 degree Celsius. Line a 12-cup standard muffin or cupcake tin with paper liners and grease the paper liners lightly. (Do not neglect to grease the paper liners, or else the bottom and sides of the muffins will stick to the liners since we’re not using oil at all in the batter.)
  2. Put all the ingredients except the chocolate chips/chunks into a blender (if using a blender, make sure your blender is large enough to contain all the ingredients) or a bowl with an electric mixer. Blend or mix until the oats have broken down and the batter is somewhat smooth, scraping down the sides and stirring occasionally. This will take 3-5 minutes. Then, stir in the chocolate chips or chunks by hand, making sure they are just incorporated into the batter.
  3. Divide the batter among the prepared muffin cups, filling each to about three quarters full. Sprinkle with additional chocolate chips or chopped nuts as desired. Bake for 15 minutes until the top of the muffins are set and a toothpick/skewer inserted into the center comes out clean. Place the tin on a wire rack and let cool for 10 minutes before removing the muffins from the tin.

17793105_10209980089031599_2010100328_n

17761692_10209980089151602_410320389_o

17778904_10209980089391608_147537365_o
Doesn’t it look just like a normal muffin? 🙂 I actually kinda like the texture of the oats and chia seeds!

Till next time,

Grace

Leave a Reply

