Baked

Bursts of Sunshine

HELLO!

It’s Chap Goh Meh (already!!) and I didn’t even realize until my mum mentioned it during our Whatsapp call. Goshh, do I really need another indication of how scarily QUICKLY 2017 is zooming by? I certainly don’t want one 😦

Since it’s the last day of the CNY season (my personal favourite celebration back in Malaysia), I thought I’d write a post about my Blueberry Lemon Cake, which I made for the OCF CNY decentralized on New Year’s Eve. Joseph (my co-SGL, an amazing one), Sarah (also my co-SGL and a dear friend) and I decided that we should celebrate the January babies during decent, so I happily offered to bake a cake.

I was considering making a cheesecake or chocolate cake but also wanted to try my hands at something new –BLUEBERRY LEMON CAKE! The name has that burst-of-sunshine, cheery ring to it, which I sorely lack and desperately need. So, voila! Decision made.

Here’s my slight adaptation of the original recipe from Baker by Nature, http://bakerbynature.com/blueberry-layer-cake-lemon-buttercream-frosting/

Ingredients

Cake
Wet ingredients:
125g unsalted butter
¾ cups brown sugar, packed
¼ cups granulated/caster sugar
1 tbsp fresh lemon zest
3 tbsp + ½ cup fresh lemon juice (I used more lemon juice as I didn’t use any lemon extract)
1 and ½ tsp vanilla extract
4 large eggs, room temperature
1 cup full-fat Greek yoghurt
½ cup sunflower oil
2 cups (or more) fresh blueberries
2 tbsp all-purpose flour (you may need more, depending on how much blueberries you use)

Dry ingredients:
2 and ¼ cups all-purpose flour
¼ cup cornstarch/cornflour (same same)
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda/ sodium bicarbonate
½ tsp salt

Cream Cheese Lemon Frosting
250g Philadelphia tub cream cheese (I’m still not over the fact that I can’t find BLOCK cream cheese in UK), room temperature
125g unsalted butter, softened
4 cups icing sugar, sifted (I was too lazy to sift)
2 tsp fresh lemon zest
1 tbsp lemon juice (I mistakenly added a little more which made my icing a little runny)
1-2 tbsp full fat Greek yoghurt (if your icing is too thick and you need to loosen it)

For Assembly and Decoration
1/3 cup lemon curd (http://www.joyofbaking.com/LemonCurd.html)
Sliced lemon wedges
Fresh blueberries

Instructions

A) For the Blueberry Lemon Cake
1. Cut out two 9-inch round pieces of parchment paper to line your cake pans with. Butter/oil the bottom and sides of each pan generously, then place the parchment paper cut out in the bottom of the pans.
2. In a large bowl using a handheld electric mixer (or in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment), beat the butter and both sugars on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 5-10 minutes (it took me much longer cos I was doing this in the middle of the night and the mixer was so noisy I had to use the low speed in case my neighbours came knocking on my door!) Add in the vanilla extract, lemon zest, lemon juice and beat until incorporated. Add in the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition, and scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. Set aside.
3. Preheat your oven to 180 degree Celsius.
4. In a separate bowl, whisk together all the dry ingredients. Mix well to evenly combine the ingredients. Add the dry mixture into the ingredients in step (2) and mix on low speed until everything is just barely combined. Don’t worry if you see some lumps, that should happen. Add in the Greek yogurt, lemon juice, and oil, and using a rubber spatula, fold the ingredients into the mixture, mixing until everything is incorporated, but being sure not to overmix. Set aside.
5. On a plate with wide surface area, coat the blueberries with flour using your hands. Add the blueberries and any remaining flour to the batter and fold using a rubber spatula, until just combined. Again, be careful not to overmix! Overmixing is very easy to do, and will result in a dry, dense cake. (boo boo)
6. Divide the batter as evenly as possible among the pans of the same size (I find using an electric weighing scale helpful in this step) and bake for 30-35 minutes, (I pre-checked my cake at the 25 minute mark cos I kan cheong like that) or until the tops are firm and slightly golden, and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, or with a few moist crumbs clinging to it.
7. Allow the cakes to cool for a while before gently running a knife around the edges, then turning them out onto a cooling rack to cool completely.
8. While the cakes cool, it’s time to get cracking on the frosting.

B) For the Creamy Lemon Frosting:
1. In a large bowl using a handheld electric mixer (or a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment) beat the cream cheese and butter on medium-speed until light and fluffy, about 3-5 minutes. Reduce the speed to low, then add in the icing sugar, lemon zest and lemon juice, beat until combined. Increase the speed back to medium and mix until creamy, about 2-3 minutes. Add the Greek yogurt if needed and continue beating the frosting until very light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. If the frosting seems too thin, add a little more icing sugar, starting with one tablespoon at a time; if the frosting seems too thick, add in a little more Greek yoghurt, starting one tablespoon at a time.
2. When the cakes have completely cooled, place one round on a cake stand or large plate; spread the top and sides evenly with frosting, then top with the lemon curd, if using. Gently place the other cake round on top of the filled one and press down very lightly to seal them together. Continue frosting the cake, using an offset spatula until the top and sides of the cake are evenly frosted. Decorate with blueberries and lemon slices, if desired.
3. The frosted cake will stay fresh when stored in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.

16251796_10209413938158181_9030896595498910080_o

Tadaa, the end result! Frosting skills still CMI tho :/

This cake fed EIGHTEEN people (so proud haha). And the OCF-ers seemed to like it, yayy 🙂 I’ll definitely make this again xx

Love,

Grace

Leave a Reply

